Discoveries

I’ve been a bit adrift following a blizzard of activity to meet a deadline. So I decided to do a bit of electronic decluttering and reorganising. My files aren’t very organised to start with, and I’ve got bits and pieces of writing, journals, notes, fragments, everywhere. So I’ve been opening documents and seeing what’s inside. And I found this, a list of words at the start of a summary about some collaborative reflective writing about mirrors (pun intended). I have no idea why I wrote this list or what I was thinking when I picked out those words and placed them in this order, but I love the poetry, and I love the way you can insert your own punctuation to create different meanings depending on how you group the words. Here they are:

Think
Write
Time
Light
Mirror
Like
Really
Dark
Thing
Metaphor
Just
Space

My first poem with them, just playing, is:

Think, write.
Time, light.
Mirror, like really dark thing.
Metaphor.
Just…
Space.

And what if I put them in alphabetical order and then group them anew?

Dark
Just
Light
Like
Metaphor
Mirror
Really
Space
Thing
Think
Time
Write

Dark:
Just light,
like metaphor.
Mirror, really, space thing.
Think time.
Write.

I think I prefer the first one.

Leave a Reply

